New to Sulcata Care

KylianMbp

Location (City and/or State)
Bakersfield California
Hello everyone, cheers from Bakersfield CA. I am brand new to this entire experience and I'm looking to learn how to best care for my new bud. I was just randomly gifted a baby sulcata by a family friend and I had no idea what to do so I've spent some time watching videos and reading threads over the past few days. This enclosure is what I came up (with don't mind the water he just threw dirt in before I took the picture). I was looking for some expert eyes though to let me know what's missing or what could be done better. I am currently feeding him Mazuri feed, like 7 pellets a day. I saw somewhere that this was the appropriate amount for tortoises less than 1 y/o however feel free to correct me if that is incorrect.
A few Questions I have:
How long should his lamp stay on per day?
Is there specific feeding periods I should give him and remove un-eaten food to prevent bugs in the enclosure?
Do I ever need to scrub his shell to wash him off?
How warm do the daily soaks need to be/ How long should I let him soak?
Any recommended videos to watch or threads to follow?

Thank you in advance to everyone who takes time out of their days to help me. I really appreciate any help I can get.

Attachments

• IMG_3620.jpg
    IMG_3620.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 1

Josh

Ask questions, share answers, talk torts!
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Redlands, CA
Welcome to the forum!
I shoot for 12/12 or 14/10 for light/dark hours.
I would feed all he can eat within a set time and remove the rest. Try that twice a day or so until you get a feel for his feeding patterns.
I don't really scrub them but a nice rinse goes a long way.
I use water that feels just warm to the touch. Like just a touch too cold for bathwater. Soak for as long as you're willing to supervise. 30 mins would be more than plenty

KylianMbp

Bakersfield California
Welcome to the forum!
I shoot for 12/12 or 14/10 for light/dark hours.