New to Forums, New to Turtles ASAP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Hippo

5 Year Member
So HI Guys!

Im new to caring for turtles and i just got one recently. My turtle is about 1 year old and is a Sulcata Tortoise !!!! He is absolutely adorable and i wish for the very best of him since i invested alot of money into it. I feed him lettuce everyday ( not iceburg lettuce ) and he seems to rather eat alot. But i want to know about his bedding if i am suppose to actually cover the whole bedding or just partially. I tend to clean him twice a week for 10 minutes and he makes quite the poop haha !!!. However he seems to have accumulated leftover food in his mouth and its starting to concern me. I tend to brush him with a toothbrush but he hides back in his shell and i tend to like stuff clean. WHAT DO I DO !?!?!?

Can i have any suggestions for this please ? would love a ASAP Message.

Thanks for your Time

Mr.Hippo

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Mr. Hippo:

Welcome to the forum!!

May we know your name and where you are?

Do you mean his beak gets discolored by the food, or does he actually have food in his mouth that he doesn't swallow?

Also, I think you need to feed him more of a variety of foods. How big is your tortoise?

Missy

5 Year Member
Illinois
What do you keep your tort in? Do you have a UVA/UVB bulb? How is the temps? As far as bedding, cover the bottom then use a flat rock or tile to feed him on. Do you have a drinking/soaking dish? If you can post a picture it will help us help you. Welcome to TFO :)

Mr.Hippo

5 Year Member