new puppy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cameron

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Oklahoma
Ok, we went and got a bloodhound puppy this weekend. She is an outside dog, is 5 months old and has been raised with her litter mates outdoors in a pen. I absolutely LOVE this dog. I am very tempted to go back and get one of her brothers to keep as a playmate for her. They will be spayed and neutered. Is it a big deal to raise litter mates together? I have heard that you shouldn't raise siblings together...they become too bonded and attached to each other. Any input or thoughts? I was worried about her being alone all day while my wife and I are at work and thought it would be good to get her a companion.

Cameron

10 Year Member!
Oklahoma
anyone with any info? i'm not a dog person, i really just want whats best for her....

harris

10 Year Member!
Ohio
I've been keeping Labradors for 20+ years and have always kept two at a time. Never litter mates but very close in age to one another. I wouldn't think of having just one. They do develop an inseperable bond with one another, however it's never affected the relationship with me as they are just as devoted. The only downfall I see is it's tough on the other when one passes away.

terryo

10 Year Member!
Staten Island, New York
I keep Chihuahua's and always have two. These little dogs want to go everywhere with you, and when there's two you don't feel so bad leaving them home.

chadk

10 Year Member!