New little leopard

Status
Not open for further replies.

meagan

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ontario, Canada
I just bought a young leopard tortoise from a breeder yesterday and I am picking it up tomorrow. I already have Flash and I would like to put it in the same enclosure as Flash. I was wondering how to introduce them? This is my second tortoise so I have never done this before and I am wondering what I should do. Any help is apprecaited.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
You have to quarantine them for at least 3 months. During that time I usually take a couple fecal samples from both tortoises to be examined by the vet.

Tortus

5 Year Member
Maryland
How young is the new one? Since Flash is over 1 1/2 years old there could be a big size difference if it's a hatchling.

meagan

5 Year Member
Ontario, Canada
Tortus said:
How young is the new one? Since Flash is over 1 1/2 years old there could be a big size difference if it's a hatchling.

The new one is 8-9 months old so its not too much younger. Do you always have to keep them seperate for a few months?

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Foothills above Sacramento CA
be prepared to ahve 2 enclosures. they may not get along either..
yes, they should be seperate for a few months. Ideally...

meagan

5 Year Member
Ontario, Canada
Laura said:
be prepared to ahve 2 enclosures. they may not get along either..
yes, they should be seperate for a few months. Ideally...

I have bought a hide for the new one that Flash can not fit into so it has somewhere to go if Flash does bother it. I also have a seperate food dish so i can feed them seperately to make sure that one is eating and not getting bullied out of food

Greg T

10 Year Member!
League City, TX