New Gopherus

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortoiseguy65

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Illinois
Since I am not experienced with this Genus, I thought I would defer to the experts. What do I have?:) I know it is a female as she laid eggs a week ago. I just got her this evening. She was found wandering the streets of a central Illinois small town near the Illinois River. She was with the previous owner for 6 years. She is very friendly and outgoing. Let me know what you think.

Attachments

• gopherus 1.JPG
    gopherus 1.JPG
    67.7 KB · Views: 55
  • gopherus 4.JPG
    gopherus 4.JPG
    74.7 KB · Views: 56
  • gopherus 6.JPG
    gopherus 6.JPG
    57.9 KB · Views: 61
  • gopherus 7.JPG
    gopherus 7.JPG
    63.1 KB · Views: 76
  • gopherus 8.JPG
    gopherus 8.JPG
    66.6 KB · Views: 96

Kristina

10 Year Member!
Cadillac, Michigan
She sure as heck looks like a Florida Gopher to me. I almost never nail ID's, so I am probably wrong, LOL. I just keep trying and hope to learn from my mistakes. :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I'll be darned! So it really was a Gopherus and not a sulcata. Well, I'm not real good at i.d.ing the gopherus species, but I'm going to guess Texas or Gopherus berlandieri. Of course you know that Danny is going to shoot me down!

tortoiseguy65

5 Year Member
Illinois
Yvonne, Yep, it wasn't a sulcata. I am glad that it wasn't. I hope Danny does let me know what I have. That would be cool if it is a Texas. Ya never know.

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
You have a Desert tortoise, Gopherus agassizii, Jeff :)

Danny

matt41gb

5 Year Member
Arlington TX.
tortoiseguy65 said: