New Gift

Status
Not open for further replies.

eclipse5161

5 Year Member
ok so My fiances mother works at a local pet shop here in town. and a lady brought in her sulcata because she didnt "want" it anymore. well it found its way to my house like a few other animals have that people didnt want. with it came a 2x2 square glass tank with stand and lid. 2 ceramic clamp lights, water and food dish. i have a few years of experience with aquatic turtles, but have never dealt with tortoises. so i know a little bit about the care but the difference in land and aquatic turtles is a little new to me. the tort, who is nameless as of now, is very active. seems to be in great health as far as i can tell. and has eaten the tomatoes my mother in law put in with him this morning when she brought it over.

here are some pics.
SDC11209.jpg

SDC11194.jpg

SDC11210.jpg

SDC11193.jpg

i do not like this set up at all. i will be changing the bedding and adding some hide spots. i need to get a couple thermometers and a few other things to better occomadate the little guy. i have a few questions for you with more experience.

1.) does its shell look to be in good shape?
2.) would you recomend changing tanks? i have a spare 55 gallon tank that i feel would be easier to work with. considering the cool spots and such.

im sure ill have more question later on as the day go by but this will do for now. im very excited about this little guy. ive always wanted one but i have never made the plunge.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Aquariums are not the best habitats for tortoises, but the 55 gallon would be much better than the one he's in now.

I'd like to recommend you going to K-Mart or Wal-Mart and buying a Christmas tree storage bin. It's quite long, has low sides and is nice for being able to have a warm side and a room temperature side.