New behavior, please explain

Status
Not open for further replies.

zoogrl

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Missouri
Betty has started a new behavior over the last couple weeks, I'm not an expert in tortoise behavior so I thought I'd ask you all for advice as to what she's doing. There's a rock in her enclosure, my youngest stepson got the rock at school last spring. It's been in her enclosure for quite a while, she never seemed to care about it until recently. I'll post a video of a climbing, or mounting behavior that she's been doing for a couple weeks. She will just sit there for several minutes, then go off & explore, and come back & do it again. All day long. Tonight when I got home, she's ramming the rock! And biting at it. I've never seen her do anything like this before. What the heck is she doing? I removed the rock for now, but if you think it's ok I'll put it back in there. Thank you for your input!

zoogrl
[/URL][/img]

If you click on the picture it will pull up the video. It's Monday & football is on in the background, sorry! And I'm not a very good videographer, sorry about that too! :)

Laurie

5 Year Member
Saratoga County, New York
I would think she thinks it's another tortoise. Are you sure she is a she? Either way I would probably just leave the rock out.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Your Russian is being a Russian. They can be mean little buggers.

zoogrl

5 Year Member
Missouri
I took the rock out last night after I took the video. I didn't want her to hurt herself. It's just odd that the rock has been in there for months & she's just now started doing that. And we are not sure that she is a she.

devinsane

5 Year Member