New 6month old leopard tortoise isn't eating.

porplefrogs

Location (City and/or State)
California
I am new to reptiles, and I recently purchased a leopard tortoise from a breeder, and it seems decently active and healthy. However, it isn't eating the greens and hibiscus that I set out for it. It's been three days, is this normal? Could it be that it doesn't like the food that I put out?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
We will need more info.
Enclosure size and type, open table or enclosed chamber?
Temps, all over, basking and night?
Humidity?
Post picture of enclosure
If all above is actually correct, then it's likely being moved from one home to a new home.

TammyJ

5 Year Member
Jamaica
Hi and welcome! We just need more information, as Wellington said, so we can help you better.

zolasmum

5 Year Member
Hello - it is perfectly normal for a tortoise to be reluctant to eat or come out of its hide for quite a long time - weeks, even. It takes a while for it to feel safe in a new place. If you carry on putting fresh food out for it each day, it will soon understand you mean well. A tortoise can go for a long time without food - keep giving him fresh water too.
Angie

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I am new to reptiles, and I recently purchased a leopard tortoise from a breeder, and it seems decently active and healthy. However, it isn't eating the greens and hibiscus that I set out for it. It's been three days, is this normal? Could it be that it doesn't like the food that I put out?
Not normal for a baby leopard to remain hidden and not eat for three days. Something is wrong and needs to be fixed ASAP.

Start here and look for the leopard care sheet at the bottom:

porplefrogs

California
Hi and welcome! We just need more information, as Wellington said, so we can help you better.