Nervous new mom

GreciaGalgos

Hi
I received my new baby sully 2 days ago and it's the cutest. But I'm a little jumpy since this is my first time caring for a tortoise, so I was hoping I could get some advise.
I got him/her from my local zoo, it's 2 months old and measures about 2" inches.
He sleeps a lot and eats a lot, mostly grass, clovers and weeds from my garden (the other day he nibbled on a bougainvillea flower. Additionally I give cactus pads, cilantro, romaine lettuce and red lettuce (I will buy broussel sprouts and artichoke later) I was planning on some Timothy hay too and the exoterra tortoise diet (the store is fresh out of this)
He gets 1-1:30 hours of supervised garden exploring. A daily soak.
Right now he is on a plastic tub until I finish building his "closed chamber" Temperature in the day is 100 under the basking spot and 86 on the cool side. At night is 90 on the warm side and 80 on the cool side. He has 2 hides that never uses and a water dish, that never uses. I have him on orchid bark and I put some flat rocks that he loves climbing and basking on.

Points of concern:
He sleeps all day, except when he is outside (he is a little bulldozer then, and quite fast)
When he arrived his feces were literal water, now is a bit firmer(like gelatin)
He sleeps with his head hanging on the side or from a rock and his legs all spread out (is this normal? It's scary, makes him look like dead)
He won't use his hides (a plastic pot half burried.
And he doesn't voluntary soaks or drinks water out of the water bowl.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

Before I move this to the Sulcata section, please straighten me out. You refer to your new tortoise as a "sully." But this is the leopard thread. Is your baby a sulcata or a leopard?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA