need some help

Status
Not open for further replies.

coolguy

10 Year Member!
I am kinda new to this hobby and was hoping someone could answer some questions i have. I recently got two Sulcata babies and they seem to be sleeping a lot. Is this normal?
I have been feeding them lettuce, kale, and carrots. I mix in some vitamin supplement as well. I've read on many other posts that a lot of grass is required in their diet, but I live in toronto and its winter right now and i can't get any grass. i have come across timothy and alfalfa hay in the pet store i go to, but its the dry kind that is used for hamster bedding. Is that what these torotoises eat?

I would appreciate it if anyone could help .
thanks

Coldliz

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I think its normal for babies to sleep a lot. Mine does also. I'm not sure about feeding them carrots, at least not on a regular basis. You can buy special grass seed at turtlestuff.com to grow yourself. Mine won't eat the hay because its dry. You can also feed dandelion greens, collard greens, and the like. I recently bought some prickly pear cactus pads for mine and she loves it.

Welcome to the board!!

coolguy

10 Year Member!
Coldliz said:
I think its normal for babies to sleep a lot. Mine does also. I'm not sure about feeding them carrots, at least not on a regular basis. You can buy special grass seed at turtlestuff.com to grow yourself. Mine won't eat the hay because its dry. You can also feed dandelion greens, collard greens, and the like. I recently bought some prickly pear cactus pads for mine and she loves it.

Welcome to the board!!

thanks for the advice, i'll try it :)

jlyoncc1

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
NJ