Moving (hibernation question)

Luis Taveras0

So this December I will be moving away from my home into my new home at Montgomery Township Somerset County, New Jersey and I was wondering if there is going to be any concerns about my boxie being forced to hibernate due to the cold temperature in new york?

Linhdan Nguyen

Location (City and/or State)
Maryland
I have no experience with box turtles or hibernation (yet). But many members hibernate their tortoises and i don't think it will be a problem. But I honestly have no experience. @ColleenT has boxies, I'm not sure if she hibernates them during winter but maybe she will jump in and help.
Try looking for a couple hibernation threads on the forum. I know some let their torts hibernate in fridges (this is what I plan on doing next year) and some let them hibernate themselves outside.

cmacusa3

5 Year Member
Bixby
With the size and health of the box turtle you Have, I WOULD NOT HIBERNATE IT. You've been given a lot of useful information that you haven't given to that baby box turtle... Hard truth is, you should've left it in the wild in New York where you found it.

Eric Phillips

5 Year Member
Ohio
So this December I will be moving away from my home into my new home at Montgomery Township Somerset County, New Jersey and I was wondering if there is going to be any concerns about my boxie being forced to hibernate due to the cold temperature in new york?

Hello Luis, there is no need to hibernate your turtle. 1. IMO your box turtle is too small to hibernate. 2. I've seen another thread where your box turtle looks a bit stressed. No Captive turtle that is under weight, showing signs of being sick(swollen eyes, fluid or bubbles of nose, gasping of air, lethargic, skin infections, etc), or under the age of 3(box turtles under 3 inches) should be hibernated in my open. Long answer there is no reason to hibernate your box turtle.

Luis Taveras0