Misting Nelson

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChiKat

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
FL
Lately when I've been misting Nelson's enclosure I've also misted his carapace.
I think I read in the Sulcata section that someone said not to do this for Sulcatas because it can lead to respiratory infections (?)
Is it the same for Russians? Should I stop misting him?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I've never done this on a russian. I just haven't had any russians, since I learned about humidity, hydration and all that stuff. If I did have one, I would definitely do it.

I can tell you with absolute certainty that it does not cause respiratory infections in sulcatas. I've been misting Daisy heavily several times a day for several months now. This is in addition to daily soaks and cage mistings. If you live in a very humid area, you might need to do it less, but Daisy dries up in a matter of minutes because its quite dry here.

Now then: Nelson's shell looks fantastic. Why do you want to change your routine? You should be doing a pictorial tutorial "How to raise a perfect Russian". We'd all like to know what you are doing, because its working. Also, where do you live and what sort of humidity do you have there?

Kristina

10 Year Member!
Cadillac, Michigan
I agree with Tom. I mist all my tortoises daily, I don't think it hurts them one lick.

I too would like to know what in the world it is you are doing, because Nelson is gorgeous. If I can raise CB Russians that look like that, I will be the world's happiest camper.

ChiKat

10 Year Member!
FL
To be honest I don't know why he's growing so smoothly :p The surface of his substrate dries out quickly and he doesn't burrow.
A few months ago he started looking a little bumpy (read: I am paranoid) so I have been more diligent about keeping his substrate moist, and that's when I started misting him too.