Meet Kyra & Kerry, "Kura-Kura" from Malaysia

Tita

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Malaysia, Southeast Asia
Hi Everyone!

I'm a newbie redfoot tortoise owner from Malaysia, bought a pair for my lil girl Sasya who loves tortoises since she was a tiny tot. However, Mummy needs to research on how best to care for the new torts before she's big enough to take over. Actually, hubby claims I'm more excited than our daughter ^_^

So here's Kyra & Kerry making their debut..

Tortoises in the Malay language is "Kura-kura" so Sasya picked names closest to that. Got them less than a week and we will have our 1st vet visit tomorrow for their check-up, weight and length. Was told by the Pet Store that they were a few months old but from an experienced Redfoot breeder I recently corresponded with from (thanks for the tips, Ernie!), Kyra & Kerry is most likely 2 years old based on a rough estimate of 3" length. Will confirm measurement at the vet's tomorrow!

Since it's my 1st time getting a tortoise, we got everything the pet store recommended and it was not to use the tortoise bedding and instead use Aspen bedding. Rationale given was it's softer and won't hurt the tots if they eat it. However, after doing some reading discovered that Aspen does not hold much humidity for redfoots hence I'll be on a weekend hunt for the highly recommended cypress mulch and spaghnum moss.

Found many caresheets out there but it's always more comforting to be able to interact and confirm directly with those in the know of what works from experience.

Looking forward to learn more from all of you here and to exchange tortoise tales ^_^

Cheers
Tita

KyraKerry.jpg
KyraKerry1.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

pfara

10 Year Member!
Maryland