Looking after a relatives tort

OldManTort89

Location (City and/or State)
Suffolk
Hi there, new member here, my father in law has recently passed away, leaving behind a tortoise, he was awake so we have taken him out of hibernation but he is not eating or drinking anything, please advise... Thanks 😀🐢

Last edited:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome! Please post pictures of the tortoise so we can figure out his species, then we'll be better able to give you the correct advice.

Most tortoises don't eat right away after coming out of hibernation. They have to be able to get their core temperature warm enough to digest the food.

Sorry to hear about your father-in-law's passing, but it's good of you to take the tortoise.

TammyJ

5 Year Member
Jamaica
Beautiful tortoise! Welcome to the forum.

TammyJ

5 Year Member
Jamaica
Looks Greek to me, but I am not an expert. Lots of things are Greek to me! : )

OldManTort89

Suffolk
So we are still wondering what to do as he still hasn't eaten or drank any water... Any advice?

Mr. RussianTortoise

NJ
So we are still wondering what to do as he still hasn't eaten or drank any water... Any advice?
More information would help us solve that question. Give us information about your care such as enclosure size, substrate, diet, supplement, lighting, temp and humidity 😀

OldManTort89

Suffolk
More information would help us solve that question. Give us information about your care such as enclosure size, substrate, diet, supplement, lighting, temp and humidity 😀
As far as we aware, he has a box to sleep in with leaves, no lighting, but we have put out some cabbage and bread for him and a dish of water, he's in the kitchen at the moment

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
Have you given him a long shallow soak in water? @Yvonne G or @Tom should be able to help you.

Sarah2020

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
London, UK