Leopard Tortoise Personality

Status
Not open for further replies.

nat_r

5 Year Member
Hello Everyone!

I am in the middle of obtaining a leopard tortoise. I have a lot of experience with sulcatas and I am curious about the personality difference between the two species. Now I realize that each tortoise is a unique individual (I've met sulcatas on the reserved side as well as on the overly, in-your-face obnoxious side)... Overall I would say sulcatas (once a certain size) aren't typically shy and rather outgoing (especially when they think you have some food). All of the sulcatas I've kept in my care seem to enjoy head scratches, shell rubs, and generally were curious to interact with me. I had one sub-adult male sulcata that would randomly ram me, other tortoises and objects that got into his way.

I am wondering how Leopards compare? I've heard they are more reserved than sulcatas... maybe not as obnoxious? Some people have described them as shy. I'm wondering what other people think / feel about leopard tortoise personality in general? I'm really excited to be working towards having a new little leopard in my life :)

DesertGrandma

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
I have some leopard babies and really only see one out of four that seems a little more "shy" if you want to use that word. But, to answer your question, I think someone with adults could give you more advice. Like you said, they all have different personalities. What I have noticed is the ones that had their heads out and active when hatchlings are still the ones that are more outgoing.

Greg T

10 Year Member!
League City, TX