Leo

Rachael13

hi everyone, this is my second time asking a question on here and since you were so helpful the first time I decided I'd return for another question!

My 3 and a half year old hermanns tort has tunnelled himself under the green grass-like mat I have for under his food so the dirt doesn't get into his food dish. He stayed there for a full 24 hours so I got concerned he was stuck. I took him out only to find he tunnelled himself right back under. Just wondering if he's trying to hibernate? This isn't like him at all, he's always playing around all day in his tank. Here is a photo.

image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

johnandjade

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
scotland
hi there, im a newbie here but if you can post more pics of you enclosure snd what you temps are it should help the pros advise you.

my thoughts are, how long have you had him/her? have you made any changes? ... could be tort adjusting?

are there hides in enclosure? how deep is substrate?

Rachael13

I've had him for about a month and a half. Temps are about 90 for basking area and 75 on the other side.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 20

johnandjade

5 Year Member
scotland
it looks like you have an all glass enclosure? if this is the case, it could be causing stress on your tort as the do not unstand glass... if they can spend hrs and even case injury trying to get through it.

perhaps covering say 8" from the bottom up with paper to stop your little one seeing out would help?

Rachael13

Hmm. I bought the tank along with Leo, he has been in it since birth, so I'm not sure if that would be it :/

johnandjade

5 Year Member
scotland
i would recommend changing out the substrate to coco coir over full enclosure, about 6" deep. also a shallow terracotta dish burried level filled with water to allow self soaking and drinking water.

have you came across the care sheets on here yet? they offer great pointers :)

johnandjade

5 Year Member
scotland