LED for lighting only confused beginner

1eturner

Location (City and/or State)
Birmingham uk
Hello all, complete beginner here so please be kind, I am a new owner of a hatchling hermann 3 months old, with the help of this forum I have set up my tortoise table, vivexotic delux with a uvb strip and basking bulb at one end but the other end is a little on the dark side someone suggested a led bulb but after purchasing I realised that I could not put it in a dome reflector, could anyone recommend a simple led bulb that would go into a dome or do I just go with the smallest jungle dawn as the space that needs lighting is quite small?
Thanks

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello all, complete beginner here so please be kind, I am a new owner of a hatchling hermann 3 months old, with the help of this forum I have set up my tortoise table, vivexotic delux with a uvb strip and basking bulb at one end but the other end is a little on the dark side someone suggested a led bulb but after purchasing I realised that I could not put it in a dome reflector, could anyone recommend a simple led bulb that would go into a dome or do I just go with the smallest jungle dawn as the space that needs lighting is quite small?
Thanks
They make LED bulbs that screw into any regular light bulb fixture. I prefer to use the "globe" style ones for this purpose, but any of them can work.

You can also get a strip type LED, sometimes called "under cabinet mount" types, from hardware type stores. Over here Walmart sells them, but I don't know the UK equivalent of Walmart if there is one. Any will work, but try to get something in the 5000-6500K range for natural looking light, instead of the yellowish 2000-2500K bulbs.

Here is a pre-packaged one that I found at Walmart that works beautifully and mounts very easily:
IMG_8099.jpg

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club