Is this a greek?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiny-tort

5 Year Member
I drove quite a ways todayspecifically to get a Greek Tort. I keep and breed other reptiles and had done business with this particular store owner a few times buying/selling different herps but unfortunatly the owner was not able to meet me at the store as planned. Instead the store manager was there and even though he was expecting me and knew I wanted a Greek tort he didn't seem 100% positive which torts in the tank were greeks and which were hermans. I am new to torts and from what I've researched I liked the size and personality of the greeks ... I researched mostly Greek and Red Foots, I know nothing of hermans and all the hatchlings look very much alike ... can comeone please confirm for me that I did infact buy a Greek and not a Herman .. it would be much appreciated!!! I was told the Greeks had darker plastrons then the herms .. true? false?

Attachments

• top.jpg
    top.jpg
    182.9 KB · Views: 80
  • belly.jpg
    belly.jpg
    233 KB · Views: 62

Dutch

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Virginia
what a wonderful baby, congrats. Ok, I'm a newbie, but from what I know is that greeks are hermann's. they are, however, distinguished be western, testudo hermani robertmertensi, and eastern, testudo hermani hermani. the western hermani has a yellow spot behind the eye. I don't know if this spot is already noticeable in babies.

I just found a link, that explains it with pics.
http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=243

I hope that helps.

tiny-tort

5 Year Member
He/she is adorable either way and I am extremely happy with my tort but you know how a LOT of the time, especially with reptiles, what your sold isn't necessarily the morph or specifes you were told it was so I was just checking :)