Is temperature to hot?

Cheryl1503

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2021
Messages
50
Location (City and/or State)
Lanarkshire
Hi guys! Todd is doing great, we are 5 days in and he’s a character! He has been having his morning soaks and enjoying them. I’ve still to change his substrate but plan to get him coir . Got my temp gun and I feel the temp in his hot end is too hot, especially u set his lamp. It’s 38-42, his cool side it 26-38 and his night temp is about 20- all Celsius!
how do I cool down his hot end? Do I buy a smaller wattage of bulb ( he has 75w) , do I move his heat bulb more into the corner rather than over the centre of his hot end? Help!
I have read the care sheets and I know what the temps should be, just need on advise in reducing the heat?
Species- Hermann
Age - 4 months
Enclosure a 4ft viv

A6AFB0E5-9570-488D-99EF-0CB453418BEC.jpeg ACA26E35-D1D3-4530-A653-1DF5888D8A02.jpeg 6B9D581D-FC4F-4A87-AAF5-B19EE783939E.jpeg image.jpg
 

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Joined
Jan 9, 2010
Messages
52,573
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Sounds like a lower wattage bulb will do it. Or you can run the existing bulb through a rheostat and dial it down a little.

You've got to get him off that substrate ASAP. Every day that goes by is risking more impaction.

The water bowl needs to go too, before he tips over into it.
 

Cheryl1503

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2021
Messages
50
Location (City and/or State)
Lanarkshire
I’m ordering it tonight Tom, so hopefully will be here tomorrow. With the coir being easier to retain moisture, I think I will wait to see what my temps are like before I change anything with the bulb. Thanks again for you swift advice!
 

Lyn W

Well-Known Member
5 Year Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
19,388
Location (City and/or State)
UK
Sounds like a lower wattage bulb will do it. Or you can run the existing bulb through a rheostat and dial it down a little.

You've got to get him off that substrate ASAP. Every day that goes by is risking more impaction.

The water bowl needs to go too, before he tips over into it.
For us in the UK Tom, is a rheostat the same as a thermostat?
 

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Joined
Jan 9, 2010
Messages
52,573
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
For us in the UK Tom, is a rheostat the same as a thermostat?
No. A thermostat turns power on or off depending on the temperature at the probe. A rheostat allows the user to control how much power goes to a device. Like a dimmer switch for lights.

In a closed chamber where the height of the light fixture is fixed and not adjustable, a rheostat sometimes makes life easier than trying a bunch of different bulbs.
 

Lyn W

Well-Known Member
5 Year Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
19,388
Location (City and/or State)
UK
Hi Cheryl, I don't know if you saw Tom's additional comment about the bowl but the sides are a bit too steep for him and could cause him to tip over and drown if he is in the water. Terracota plant saucers with shallow sloping sides are safer and if you sink them level with the substrate they are easier to get in and out of.
 

Lyn W

Well-Known Member
5 Year Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
19,388
Location (City and/or State)
UK
No. A thermostat turns power on or off depending on the temperature at the probe. A rheostat allows the user to control how much power goes to a device. Like a dimmer switch for lights.

In a closed chamber where the height of the light fixture is fixed and not adjustable, a rheostat sometimes makes life easier than trying a bunch of different bulbs.
Thanks Tom!
 

Cheryl1503

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2021
Messages
50
Location (City and/or State)
Lanarkshire
Hi Cheryl, I don't know if you saw Tom's additional comment about the bowl but the sides are a bit too steep for him and could cause him to tip over and drown if he is in the water. Terracota plant saucers with shallow sloping sides are safer and if you sink them level with the substrate they are easier to get in and out of.
[/QUOTE
Oky doke, I’ll see about changing that too and I’ll make a ramp with his substrate in the meantime, between you and Tom over the past few days, I’ve learned so much already! Lifesavers!
 

Lyn W

Well-Known Member
5 Year Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
19,388
Location (City and/or State)
UK
no
No need to make a ramp, just sink the saucer so the lip of it is level with the substrate.
 
Top