Introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

KathG2013

5 Year Member
IMG_4664.jpegIMG_2523.jpeg[attachment=55670
Hello All,

I am a Law Student in the North-East of US. I have a red-foot tortoise who is about 6 months old, named Littlefoot. He has been to the vet since I acquired him in March of this year (2013). Recently I have been noticing either dryness or white areas on his shell and am becoming worried because they do not seem to be improving. I was hoping some experts may offer their advice as to a home remedy as money is extremely tight for me during school and his vet trips are not cheap!

...I am attempting to figure out how to post some photos

Thank You, Kath & Littlefoot <3[attach]55670[/attach]

Attachments

• IMG_1950.jpeg
    IMG_1950.jpeg
    405.6 KB · Views: 74
  • IMG_7222.jpeg
    IMG_7222.jpeg
    347 KB · Views: 96
Last edited by a moderator:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum, Kath!

Those spots are probably the beginning of shell rot. You have to walk a pretty fine line with RF tortoises...they need to be kept moist, but if you keep them too moist they develop shell rot.

Clean the areas well with a soft brush, dry it, then apply some athlete's foot cream to the spots. Should clear up in a couple weeks.

I use orchid bark for my YF substrate. I start with moist substrate, then after the light dries out the top layer, I add more water at a corner of the habitat so it runs down and under, keeping the top layer dry. The heat causes the moisture to rise in the air and keeps it humid, but the tortoise isn't sitting on wet substrate.

KathG2013

5 Year Member
IMG_1950.jpeg
Yvonne G said:
Welcome to the Forum, Kath!

Those spots are probably the beginning of shell rot. You have to walk a pretty fine line with RF tortoises...they need to be kept moist, but if you keep them too moist they develop shell rot.