I'm no expert but....

Status
Not open for further replies.

froghaven5

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
New Jersey
Met someone today at a public event that had turtles and 3 sulcata tortoise with her. I know I'm a newbie to the sulcata tort, but ..... Not only did she not believe humidity had anything to do with pyramiding (because she read all the books), but believed her tort with the worst pyramiding was her "Best Specimen". :( I began to disagree with her, but realized I would not get anywhere with her and that this wasn't the place to be in an arguement.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
froghaven5 said:
, ...but believed her tort with the worst pyramiding was her "Best Specimen". :( I began to disagree with her, but realized I would not get anywhere with her and that this wasn't the place to be in an argument.

Lots of folks think that the pyramided carapace is quite beautiful. You'd be surprised how many times I've heard comments on Dudley's bumps as being just the prettiest shell ever.

Good for you on backing off. You've got to pick your battles.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Yeah, Welcome to my world.

I usually give these kind of people the spiel anyway. I try to do it nicely and tactfully, explaining my observations and experiences. Whenever possible, I show them pics. Can't argue with pics of smooth torts.

Even if they disregard what I'm saying, I at least feel like I've planted a seed. Most people's reaction is to rebuff new info at first, but after you leave and they have a chance to think it over, and they WILL think it over, they will usually consider what has been said. Then, the next time they hear it from a totally different source, it will have much more credence. If they keep hearing from many different, unrelated sources they will eventually believe it and start repeating it.

froghaven5

5 Year Member
New Jersey