I'm new to tortoises!!

sulcata1861

Hi thank you tom for commenting! I've actually found where you commented in another post and followed all your links... they have been extremely helpful!! I'm unsure how I had such high humidity in the open top(closed but has screen) but it could have some to do with the extreme flooding we have had the past few months here in tx....but I did notice that the longer I had the pellets the less humid it was getting.. I'm now at 80-85% humidity with the cypress mulch... can actually see the moisture on the tank... sadly I'm not able to get the new enclosure built until next weekend so I am hoping I can keep things at proper temp/humidity in this small tank til then... I'm having a closed chamber enclosure built... should I plant any live plants inside the new enclosure?if so any you'd recommend that could survive in the enclosure? I was going to start slowly introducing him to grass but today I offered both the zoomed food and several different grass types and he went straight for the grass!! Ate more then I thought a small tortoise could eat! I was excited to see he was a fan of grass. (Maybe the breeder gave them grass) I'll have to try to mix it to to give better variety.
Anyways I've spent most of my day today watching all of the temp and humidity readers... the ambient temp has stayed between 80 and 85 along with the humidity... but the hot zone is reaching 105 at times...should I be concerned about this?? I have the lamp as far away as I can get it (atleast until I get the new set up in)... today was also the first day he came out while I was holding him... I've been soaking him 30 minutes a day... really wanting to avoid any pyramiding. And thank you for all the advice! It's hard finding accurate care for tortoises online most websites have different recommendations so it's hard to know which to follow...

Thank you!!

sulcata1861