I'm a newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

l4dyamethyst2011

5 Year Member
Hello my name is kaz, I live in Romford, Essex uk and I have just been gifted with a 1yr: old western hermanns who I have called munster..lol a play on words there. He, I say he because the reptile expert at the animal centre we bought him from said that it's a strong possibility him is a boy, he has been very active since we got him, however reading some threads here I am not so sure, he comes out of his hidy box when he hears my voice, I call his name and give him dandelion leaves, so he has already associated me with food... Awww cupboard love, but he seems to spend a lot of time in his hidy box, I have checked the temperature and it's all as it should be, and when he does come out he's very active and fast. Also he only seems to eats dandelion leaves, I've tried some other things from my garden but he's not interested. Also he sniffs the air and he looks so cute when he does that, however sometimes he looks like he's sniffing but he's just breathing is it normal for his breathing to be so noticeable it's like he's panting....he has no discharge from his eyes or nose, they are clear and bright... I'll leave it there for now I don't want to appear to be a stress mumma...:tort:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Kaz:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

That's quite a username you've chosen for yourself! :D

martinfre

5 Year Member
Cologne, Germany
hello l4dyamethyst2011,

your litte tort has to habituate to his new home. apart from this it's normal, that young thh are very shy. that's an instinct.

can you post some pics of the enclosure?

tyler0912

5 Year Member
Blackburn, U.K.
Welcome im in uk in the northwes 1
Enjoy your stay!

Welcome im in uk in the northwes
Enjoy your stay!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...