I'm a newbie here

Status
Not open for further replies.

blsabob23

5 Year Member
I purchased two baby leopards about 3 years ago from a pet store. Turns out that the place had a rep for selling weak animals. Consequently, neither lived more than a month. I'd like to try again, but considering my last experience, I'm a bit gunshy. I see a lot of dealers/breeders online and have no way to tell which ones are good and which ones are bad. Can anyone help me determine how to weed out the bad breeders and find a reputable one?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
blsabob23 said:
I purchased two baby leopards about 3 years ago from a pet store. Turns out that the place had a rep for selling weak animals. Consequently, neither lived more than a month. I'd like to try again, but considering my last experience, I'm a bit gunshy. I see a lot of dealers/breeders online and have no way to tell which ones are good and which ones are bad. Can anyone help me determine how to weed out the bad breeders and find a reputable one?

That's a real tough question. I don't really believe that there are whole groups of "weak" babies. I feel that babies are very fragile and require a lot of care...more care than just putting them in an aquarium and feeding them. I'm not saying that's what you did..however, there are quite a few things to consider in taking care of babies: correct lighting, hiding place, correct substrate, the right amount of heat and the correct temperature, the correct diet for the type of tortoise.

I always try to talk first-time tortoise keepers out of buying a baby. Some babies just don't make it even with the best of care. However, I doubt you will find an older leopard at a rescue, and it sounds like you have your mind set on a leopard.