I am new to this

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joblack

5 Year Member
Hi all - I am new on this site, so bare with me please.
My name is Jo. I live in Cape Town South Africa. I have one Angulate tortoise - Molly weighing 950 g and two Leopard Torts. Sully the male, weights 6.1 kg and female Waz weighs 4.7kg. I have had them since September of 2011. This will be my first winter with them. I have read plenty of sites and see that over in the UK, people hibernate their torts during the cold winter months. Our winters here, only reach around 15deg at night and about 18deg during the day. My torts live in quite a big grass area and they have a nice dry enclosed "sleeping place" to which they "retire" at night. Is it necessary for me to hibernate mine during the coming winter months, which lasts about 5 months..
Any info you can give me will be highly appreciated.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
Hi Joe! Welcome to TFO. Only some species will hibernate and even with those, it is up to the keeper if they wish to hibernate them. Leopards are not hibernated and if memory serves me correctly, neither would your other one. :tort:

Joblack

5 Year Member
Jacqui said:
Hi Joe! Welcome to TFO. Only some species will hibernate and even with those, it is up to the keeper if they wish to hibernate them. Leopards are not hibernated and if memory serves me correctly, neither would your other one. :tort:

Thanks so much Jacqui
So as long as I make sure that their sleeping area is well sheltered from the cold and rain, and always dry inside with lots of straw, I could leave them there and just keep an eye on them every few days. I am assuming that they are'nt going to be moving around or eating much during the cold and rainy months.
Thanks again, Jo :)

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...