Homemade incubator

Status
Not open for further replies.

RonHays

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Oxford, Ms
I have been caring for my tortoises for 5 years and so far my torts are good and healthy with good diets and husbandry. That being said, I'm new to this breeding process if you can't already tell by my other thread in this breeding forum.

I just called my local petsmart looking for a incubator and they told me that they don't carry any incubators. So now I need help with detailed instructions (if someone cares to take the time) on how to make a homemade incubator. A list of supplies would be great also.

As I write this, my Female redfoot is in the process of laying eggs and I want to go ahead and get them in some sort of incubator right away. I appreciate any and all advice my tort friends. :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
You can buy a Little Giant Bird Brooder for around $40. Tractor Supply carries them.

RonHays

5 Year Member
Oxford, Ms
Ok I just bought a little giant incubator for $40 at tractor supply. What should I use for a medium?

RonHays

5 Year Member
Oxford, Ms
tortadise said:
Medium temp? Or substrate?

Well I'm wondering do I lay the eggs on the wire screen like you would for chicken eggs? Also what are the suggested temps and humidity for the eggs?

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Tropical South Texas
If you dont have any vermiculite use spagnum moss placed in a deli cup moistly damp. Put some holes in the top of the lid and a few on the sides with a pen. When she lays her egga just place them in the deli cup on the moss. For redfoot try and keep it around 84 and not over 86. If you dont have moss you can use some dirt but need to get some vermiculite for air transfer to the egg from the soil level.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California