Hibernation feedback please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa Anne

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Anaheim, CA 92806
I have two CDTs, Gordo and Twitch, who really want to hibernate. They are 3-3.5 years old and the former owner told me they have gone down before. This is my first time and boy am I nervous. They stopped eating a few weeks ago and both of them have lost weight. Twitch was at a high of 322 grams on 10/22 and weighed in at 309 today. Gordo was at a high of 396 grams on 10/8 and weighed 371 today. I have been soaking them and putting them in the sun but that is the only time they are at all active.

Their inside enclosure temps range from 105 to 72 in the hides and everywhere in between in the rest of the enclosure. They are next to a window so they see the shorter days even though they are inside. They have a Zoo Med so I am not counting on the sun for the UVB.

I just packed them up with the double-box method and they are in the wine refridgerator. It is set to a constant 50 degrees but it can go cooler.

They are both healthy with none of the bad signs per the Tortise Trust care sheet. I am concerned about the weight they have already lost before I packed them up. Should I try to keep them up?

My other two torts, Davy and Goliath, are just over a year old and have not slowed down at all. They will be staying up.

Lisa

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Hi....how long have you had the two you have boxed up? If you have not had them for very long I would not brumate this year...IMHO I personally would wait till they are closer to 5....but that is just me :D If you feel strongly about brumating them regardless....I would say if they have eaten/basked and taken in water the entire tortoise season and you feel confident of their well being...then they should pull through aok...especially if they have successfully brumated before.