helpppppppppp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

toni

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
kent, uk
hi im new to this but please help,i brought my husband a hermans tortoise a couple of years ago as a present,<he had wanted 1 since he was young and his got eaten>.TOM has never had any problems before but i picked him up this morn to stroke him<he loves a tickled head> and his shell was soft!!!! what do i do?he has a bowl of calcium grit has varied diet lamps etc! i have been reading articles on the net and some of them say not to feed any fruit or veg at all ? is this my fault? he wont eat grass or anything else. please help me

Isa

10 Year Member!
Montreal, QC, Canada
Hello Toni,
Can you tell us more about his enclosure, lightings, the food he eats...
If you have pics of Tom or his enclosure, it would really help us help you and your little one.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Toni:

I'm sorry that your Hermann's tortoise is having problems. You say you've had the tortoise for a couple of years. Is it an adult or a baby?

In order for a tortoise's shell and bones to grow strong and healthy, they need the UV rays of the sun along with calcium. If you've had this tortoise in the house for the past two years, then that's what's wrong with him. They make a light bulb that is a substitution for the sun. They are very expensive (as light bulbs go). Without UV tortoises soon grow soft and eventually die.

Calcium alone won't work. The calcium works in conjunction with the UV from either the sun or a light.

Since your tortoise has now grown soft, you must take it to a vet and have the vet administer calcium either by injection or orally, then you MUST buy the UV light.

T-Rex puts out a bulb that provides both heat and UV.

toni

5 Year Member
kent, uk