help with my new baby golden greek

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyyoung749

5 Year Member
Hi guys,
I just received my new baby golden greek tortoise couple of days ago from one of the breeders in las vegas. At first time, it was eating very well and very active but slept most of the time like anyother baby tortoise, which is ok for me. The problem is after couple of days later its not eating for a day. I tried to put food diretly to his mouth and droped him on food dish but he refused and slept. Im really worried about my tortoise not eating because its a baby. This is my first time with tortoise so i lack in knowledge, please help me guy!

p.s. the habitat is mulched with repit bark, some hay, wooden hut on the corner, water dish and food dish on side, uvb lamp,ceramic heat emitter and finally heat pad on bottom of the tank.I turn on uvb for 12 or more hours a day and 24 hours of ceramic heat emitter on opposite side of cooler area.

The temperature is about 30-32 on the hot spot and in cooler area about 28 or more. The humidity is usually less than 70, it really depends on the weather. I live in new york and it has high humidity but never passed 75.

i feed him with spring mix,hay, and all kinds of vegies.

Thank You!

cyyoung749

5 Year Member
questions for baby golden greek

Hi guys,
I just got new baby golden greek couple of days ago.
At first time it ate well and were very active, but when i checked yesterday, it didnt eat for a whole day. Im really worried because this is my first time with tortoise. I usually feed him two times a day(morning, night). how can i make my tortoise to eat well again. please help me guys.

Thank you!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
RE: questions for baby golden greek

Hi cyyoung749:

I try not to answer threads that don't pertain to my area of expertise, but I wanted to say, Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!