Help!!! Soaking Leo's

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyTortoise

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Albuquerque, NM
I need help. The previous owner of my tortoise never soaked or misted her. She was kept in a very dry environment. I dont want to give her a heart attack but I want to start soaking her. Please give me some tips? She is about 4 inches long and 2.5-3 yr according to her previous owner. I want to get her happy and healthy.

Please help me make her happy. Camilla need to get a soak. Please tell me the best practices.

Thanks

Fernando

10 Year Member!
Southern California
I don't think there will be a problem unless you just splash water on her. She might try to get out.

but if you want to play it safe.

start low filling the water (warm) slowly little by little with a cup or something so that she doesn't see a wave of water coming

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
I am not a proponent of forced soaking, even for hatch lings have you tried allowing her access to a water bowl and see if she will soak and drink on her own?

DesertGrandma

10 Year Member!
Arizona
HappyTortoise said:
I need help. The previous owner of my tortoise never soaked or misted her. She was kept in a very dry environment. I dont want to give her a heart attack but I want to start soaking her. Please give me some tips? She is about 4 inches long and 2.5-3 yr according to her previous owner. I want to get her happy and healthy.

Please help me make her happy. Camilla need to get a soak. Please tell me the best practices.

Thanks

I have read through posts on this subject. There are varying opinions by forum members on this question. I would also be interested in the responses from others as to why they believe what they do, and if the age of the leo makes a difference.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California