Help/advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicky84

5 Year Member
Hi everyone,

I'm in need for some help. About my baby Dina: a friend bought her a few years ago, it was supposed to be a gift for her 6 year old son. Well, long story short - the kid wasn't that interested in taking care of the turtle, so my friend finally got bored too. That's how Dina ended up in my place ~1 month ago looking like this (see pics below). I'm not an expert but I can see that there's something wrong with Dina's shell. I bought her a heat rock, heat lamp, UVB lamp. We take baths once a week and I oil her shell with a liquid vitamin D3 after. Additionally, she gets Nekton MSA vitamins with her food.
Any thoughts what could be wrong with her shell and how can I help my baby? Please.

Thanks!
Vicky

Attachments

• IMG_3442.JPG
    IMG_3442.JPG
    81.6 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_3443.JPG
    IMG_3443.JPG
    73.7 KB · Views: 42
  • IMG_3444.JPG
    IMG_3444.JPG
    88.1 KB · Views: 37

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Welcome to the forum Vicky! Here's my opinion:

1. Shell looks okay, except for the oil all over it. Skip the oils.
2. Chuck the hot rock. Those are dangerous for any reptile. The only reason they are still sold is because people with good intentions keep buying them.
3. When you say "bath", you mean a plain, old shallow, warm water, soak for 10-15 minutes, right? No soap and water in other words, right? Just being extra careful here.
4. I'm not familiar with Nekton products so I won't comment on that, a good general routine is once a week supplementation with a reptile vitamin supplement and twice a week with a calcium supplement. Use a calcium supplement WITH D3, if you don't get Dina out in the sun very much.