Hello. I'm new

Stormy

My husband and I just got our very first tortoise. We have both had turtles before, and I have taken care of tortoises through my work in the past. We just acquired our sulcata baby one week ago today. He is officially 3 weeks old. He has an indoor box and a large outdoor enclosure with a hide box, a cinder block retreat, grass for grazing, dirt for digging, I have hibiscus bushes in pots to provide shade and snacks. He has access to water at all times. So far he has been very active early morning and late evening. Spends the night and mid day in his brick home. I've been lurking on this forum for about 3 months while I studied and learned as much as I could, but since we finally got our baby I wanted to make an account and start participating.

Attachments

• IMG_2605.JPG
    IMG_2605.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 27

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. Your baby should be housed in a closed chamber until approximately two years old. Very short, 1/2 hour a day he can be outside until around a year old, then it can be longer and back into a closed chamber. Please read the caresheets, closed chamber thread and make adjustments. They need a high humidity of 80% and temps no lower then 80 day and night with a 95-100 basking spot. They also need a daily warm water soak and fed as much as they want to eat twice a day until around 2 years then once a day is find. More research needs to be done on this forum, sorry.

Stormy