Hello from the oregon coast.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jess054u

5 Year Member
Hey every body just I'm new to this and just wanted to introduce myself and say hey. I'm jessica and I just got a baby sulcata a few months ago an I love him. We named him spike which seems to be a pretty popular name in the tortoise world. I feed him Timothy hay mixed with zoo med grassland tortoise food and nature zone juvenile baby bites. I give him all of that mixed together every other day. Was to
D they don't need to eat every day. I also have turtle cuttle bones in his tank for him to eat at any time. For bedding I use Zella's bark blend. The humidity is only at about 35% and it it hard to keep it much higher than that. The temp on the basking side is around 85 during the day. He seems very happy and healthy and I think I'm doing everything right but every day I learn something new so any tips or advise would be much appreciated. Thanks and I'm really enjoying this site. Jessica

image-513993713.png

Spike eating a dandelion

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum, Jessica.

I don't know where that "they-don't-need-to-eat-every-day" thing came from, but it couldn't be further from the truth. A tortoise wakes up in the morning, sits in the sun to warm up, then goes off wandering the universe looking for food. He'll do this every day.

I feed my babies every day. However, it has been my experience that babies won't eat hay. I feed mine a mixture of dark leafy greens, spring mix, mullberry and grapes leaves and weeds.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA