Hello Everyone!

Toastyknickers

Location (City and/or State)
Dayton, OH
I am brand new to both this forum and tortoise care but not turtles entirely.

My name is Toasty and I live in Southern Ohio in Dayton. My wife and I are both avid animal lovers and currently have our small "zoo" of overly loved pets. We have a large tank of assorted fish and aquatic animals as well as a Quaker Parrot and a Pembroke Welsh Corgi. We are always interested in the next pet adventure as well as keeping out current animals as happy and as cared for as possible.

As a child I was given a red eared slider turtle to care for and was able to keep him for many years before a growth defect took him from me. Looking back I may have been too young and thus unable to give him the care he truly needed. I have however, always been fascinated with returning to the turtle and tortoise world once I felt I knew enough.

Our next addition to the family has been decided as a tortoise. I am here on the forums to learn as much as possible from everybody as well as keep myself informed on the current trends and knowledge that is available. My wife and I are thinking about a Hermann's or Russian tortoise due to current size restrictions we have to place on the indoor enclosure. This size restriction does leave what seems to be considered a "large" amount of space for one tortoise enclosure luckily.

Any information or tips are GREATLY appreciated and I would love to talk with as many people as possible to learn as much as I can before embarking on my families next adventure.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Depending on the size of the enclosure that you have room for and if you can keep it outside for at least the warmer parts of the year will weigh heavily on what you get. Welcome. READ.

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member