Growing Ghost - My Leo

Greytortuga

Location (City and/or State)
Michigan
Happy New Year!

I am GreyTortuga, located in Southeast Michigan, and a Leo tortoise owner.

This is my first time posting, but I have used this blog the last two years to navigate purchasing my first Leopard (babcocki) and raising it--Ghost. I wanted to introduce myself and summarize my experience to help others in the future, gather any recommendations and to chat about tortoise things. I included more details towards the end of the post for those who want more context.

Summary

Finding a Leo from a reputable breeder was a challenge, but Will at @Kapidolo Farms was able to give me Gale from his February 2020 hatchling group. Ghost (previously Gale) is almost 2 years old and lives in a 6x2 enclosure (custom made by Eden Enclosures in Michigan), but during the summer Ghost spends a few hours outdoors in a rabbit coop/hutch. Enclosure humidity stays between 65% - 75% and temperatures range from 80F to 90F. I keep handling to a minimum as Ghost is still a yearling and timid, but does enjoy a head rub now and then.

Ghost soaks around 2-3 times a week and eats twice a day a variety of greens, dried Kapidolo 'All Aminos' variety food or soaked Mazuri (weekly calcium powder). Ghost sleeps 70% of the day (not super active) and poos 3 times a week. Sex is still unknown :).

I'll continue to track Ghost's growth, but thus far a steady trend:
  • Hatch (2/20)
  • 6 month old (8/28/20) - 104g
  • 1 year old (2/20/21) - 170g
  • 1.5 years old (8/20/21) - 350g
  • Almost 2 years old (1/1/22) - 474g

A few topics to discuss:
  1. Was there an age where your tortoise started to become more outgoing or active?
  2. With the Michigan winter climate, any recommendations indoor enclosures to accommodate adult size?
  3. Any growth averages to share for Leo babcockis around age 5 and 10? Photos welcomed :)
10_21_Halloween 2.jpg

----------------------------------

Finding A Tort