Found Ill slider/ blind

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phobi

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Columbia, MO
Hello everyone, I was bike riding and found a red ear slider on the side of the park road,the res didnt seem to be active like a normal healthy res. I left it alone and when I came back threw it only moved a couple of steps and weak... So i took him home with me, he is in warm water about a 1" deep. He is blind I believe he doesnt even have eyes anymore. I think maybe something like ants ate them away. Anyways I was wondering what I should do next he doesnt move much, I tried to feed him but since he is blind how would i do this? How did he survive in the wild like this? He is a full grown res also. Ide love some help on what to do next im stuck. Thanks so much guys :)

jjsull33

5 Year Member
Denver, Colorado
I have no experience with blind turtles myself, but I have heard that people chop up the food and put in a pile so its easier for them to get a mouthful while blindly biting at a pile.

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Foothills above Sacramento CA
turtle have to be in the water to eat.. so not sure how that will work.. can you post pictures?
He might be so bad off, that he cant be saved...

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
The only way I could think of is to feed him in a small tub, be enough for him to move some, but not to big or deep. Then drop in a lot of food at once. Same as the pig pile feeding for a blind tort, but in the water. This way he wouldn't have a lot of room to have to find it. It will waist a lot of food, but if he can be saved, it would be worth it.

Phobi

5 Year Member
Columbia, MO