Foods to avoid

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kk1221kk

5 Year Member
I'm new to tortoise ownership and wondering if there are any food items known to be toxic to all tortoise types, like a general list of things to avoid, regardless of species. Sort of like dogs with grapes or chocolate. Specifically, we are getting a young Burmese Mtn tortoise.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Spinach is too be avoided by all as far as I know. Also, check the tortoisetable.org for other items. You can also check on the tortoiselibrary.com

RedfootsRule

5 Year Member
Miami, Florida
wellington said:
Spinach is too be avoided by all as far as I know. Also, check the tortoisetable.org for other items. You can also check on the tortoiselibrary.com

Where did you hear that? Spinach actually has quite a lot to offer. The only reason people warn against it...Is oxalic acid. Which, really, is not harmful if the tortoise is hydrated. The amounts of oxalates in spinach should be harmless. Spinach is just as good as the next green in a varied diet, really. It should be limited, but not overlooked.

CtTortoiseMom

5 Year Member
CT
Another point about spinach is that it is high in protien and really good for torts as long as it is not a staple and varied. If you are worried about urates or a stone developing you could serve it with romaine lettuce.

RedfootsRule

5 Year Member
Miami, Florida
CtTortoiseMom said:
Another point about spinach is that it is high in protien and really good for torts as long as it is not a staple and varied. If you are worried about urates or a stone developing you could serve it with romaine lettuce.

Actualy, high-oxalate foods are best paired with high-calcium greens. The calcium oxalate crystals thus formed are easily passed through the urine if the tortoise is well-hydrated enough.

CtTortoiseMom

5 Year Member
CT