Diet Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

tinybit92

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
WA
I was told that yes you can, though mine personally won't touch the stuff. I'm not an expert though so someone with more experience would probably give a better answer.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Mine get a carrot once or twice a month, some people feed squash and such but mine love carrots, but feed sparingly.

Smithen

5 Year Member
Cincinnati Ohio
Carrots are a good tread about once a month as dmmj stated above. You also want to avoid feeding your little friend any fruits.

Tyler

icicle

5 Year Member
I heard that Apples are good once in a while, is that true?

dmmj

10 Year Member!
CA
Personally I would avoid fruits if at all possible, carrots are very sweet, highest vegetable sugar content I believe. Try pear cactus if you want a fruit to feed.

jensgotfaith

5 Year Member
Rocklin, CA
My Russian is very picky and will not eat carrots. I've tried giving them to her both shredded and sliced. She also doesn't like pumpkin or squash. Another shocker, she tramples Mazuri rather than eating it and doesn't like zoomed grassland either. She strictly likes spring mix, romaine, mustard greens, Collard greens, and once in a while some kale. When it's warm enough for her to be outside, she walks around, sleeps, and walks more. I've never seen her grazing.

dmmj

10 Year Member!
CA
jensgotfaith said:
My Russian is very picky and will not eat carrots. I've tried giving them to her both shredded and sliced. She also doesn't like pumpkin or squash. Another shocker, she tramples Mazuri rather than eating it and doesn't like zoomed grassland either. She strictly likes spring mix, romaine, mustard greens, Collard greens, and once in a while some kale. When it's warm enough for her to be outside, she walks around, sleeps, and walks more. I've never seen her grazing.
sounds like someone has got a spoiled tortoise :)

tortoises101