Check my plan please!

WeedyDragons

Location (City and/or State)
Oregon
I am new to the forum and this is my first post!

I have wanted a group of Sulcata for nearly 15 years. I am now nearly 30 and finally in a position with house, stability, finances etc to undertake ownership of these guys (I think it is called "adulting"). I am new to tortoise ownership, however I am not new to animal husbandry. I own a sizable fish business and my background is in aquaculture, animal husbandry is my livelihood.

I wanted to post my plan of attack for these guys and get some feedback, and if there are any glaring mistakes or things I am overlooking please let me know! I am aware this is an expensive undertaking and a life long commitment.

I will be acquiring a group of 6-8 Sudanese locale Sulcatas in 4-6 weeks, I am simply in love with these animals. They will be hatchlings. I have read through every thread on here over the last year or so and understand the logic and application behind the closed box/wet method. Accordingly, I have an 8' x 4' closed box ready for the hatchlings and will have no problem maintaining the temp and humidity requirements.

I live in the Willamette valley of Oregon (aka the grass seed capitol of the world), so while fresh grass year round will be no problem, the climate itself does not allow for year round outdoor housing. I do have plenty of land available for the nice months. My plan is to build a 1000 sq ft shed/greenhouse, with radiant heat flooring, as well as a natural gas heater to maintain appropriate heat and humidity year round. The animals will have access to 1/2 acre plus of grass year round. Now the questions: