Box Turtle Eggs In Hawaii

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmarie808

5 Year Member
View attachment 16436View attachment 16437
hi newbie here -from Hawaii- 2 box turtles, 1 Maltese/schnauzer, 1 birman & 3 clutches of box turtle eggs.
Shelly(15), our bigger turtle with the sunburst decor, has been busy laying eggs! She only mated with our other turtle Clyde(20) once, but has laid 3 separate clutches of eggs since, in our yard. The first batch would have been 70 day on Feb 14. Worried, I checked the eggs & ended up rescuing the 2 good eggs of 5, the rest were eaten by big red ants. Not wanting to get stung, I used the water hose to clean out the ants. Upon doing so, the 2 vital eggs floated loose & I quickly re-homed them in some reptile soil I got from the pet store and a casserole dish. The temp here is 78-88F during the day and around 59-70F at night. Is an incubator necessary? Any tips on caring for the eggs? Should I dig up the other 2 clutches? We have red dirt in our yard which dries like clay, but Shelly did a real great job making her nests and I think they would be okay except that we have a huge avocado tree that is constantly dropping random avocados. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Aloha & Mahalo!

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
ALOHA AND WELCOME :D love Hawaii, going to vacation there this April, Oahu. I don't know anything about hatching eggs. However I would be afraid to leave them out in the yard because of the Ants and avocado. Hang on and I'm sure someone with experience will help out here soon.:D

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi gmarie:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

What would you like us to call you?