Big Jack the Hermann Tortoise (After Jackie Charlton) My first Tortoise.

Dbrosnan09

Location (City and/or State)
Heckmondwike
Hello everyone, I just wanted to introduce myself (Dan) and my seven-month-old Hermann (Big Jack). Just a couple of queries as this is my first ever tortoise, and really I have no real knowledge hence my panic. Since getting Jack two days ago, I have read as much as I can, yet I still find myself slightly panicking. The photos that I have attached below show his enclosure and temperature directly under the heat lamp showing around 35 degrees; however, when I place my hand underneath, it does not particulary feel hot (Is this normal?).

Secondly, I am also slightly worried after reading lots about the importance of humidity; I have some Moss arriving later today and was wondering when damp, will this be sufficient enough to create enough Humidity? And or does spraying the substrate I am using with water help?

Any suggestions, tips or general ideas of how you think my closure is or how I could improve his situation. In there would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks All Big Jackie.jpegJack Enclosure Pic.jpeg
Dan!!!!!!!!

shawngt2

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Toronto
Hello everyone, I just wanted to introduce myself (Dan) and my seven-month-old Hermann (Big Jack). Just a couple of queries as this is my first ever tortoise, and really I have no real knowledge hence my panic. Since getting Jack two days ago, I have read as much as I can, yet I still find myself slightly panicking. The photos that I have attached below show his enclosure and temperature directly under the heat lamp showing around 35 degrees; however, when I place my hand underneath, it does not particulary feel hot (Is this normal?).