Best practice of cleaning eggs before incubation?

Ramirezm2

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Elk Grove CA
I recently moved into a new property and within a week my female sulcata dug her first hole and laid 30+ eggs. Unfortunately she did brake about 8 of her eggs and egg yoke and dirt was clumped all around the other good eggs. She is fairly young and still getting the hang of egg laying.

I wasn’t too sure what the best practice is with cleaning up eggs since I am still new to breeding tortoises.

Any recommendations on properly cleaning the eggs without any harm before incubation?

I am using a C Serpents incubator FYI.

Thank You!

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I'm not a big breeder, so didn't have many clutches. However, the ones I did have, leopards, I just wiped most of the clay/dirt off with a wet paper towel, not scrubbing or wiping too hard. Being careful not to turn them but leaving them in the same position I retrieved them from the nest.
@Tom has had many, including sulcata, he can help if more should be done.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I recently moved into a new property and within a week my female sulcata dug her first hole and laid 30+ eggs. Unfortunately she did brake about 8 of her eggs and egg yoke and dirt was clumped all around the other good eggs. She is fairly young and still getting the hang of egg laying.

I wasn’t too sure what the best practice is with cleaning up eggs since I am still new to breeding tortoises.

Any recommendations on properly cleaning the eggs without any harm before incubation?

I am using a C Serpents incubator FYI.

Thank You!
I usually don't clean them at all. Dirt on the shells doesn't hurt anything.

For the broken egg yolk and mess, you can just rinse them in luke warm tap water and rub the mess off with your fingers.

5:1:19 Daisyx2.JPG

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club