Beginner help

Status
Not open for further replies.

linco

Hi All,
I am new to the tortoise world, and have been debating whether a tortoise would make a suitable pet for me. I live in the North East of the US, so my tortoise would have to live indoor's for a portion of the year. After doing a bit of research it seems like a Hermann or Russian would be the best choice for me. They both seem very similar and based off of look's alone I would go with a Hermann, but they seem harder to find. I live in southern Maine, and could only find one reptile store in the area that only deals in snakes/lizards would ordering online a good option? As for tortoise home has anyone tried converting a large indoor rabbit cage? I was thinking this might be an easy setup for the colder months to start with, and I could build a tortoise table as he grows larger. What other starting supplies might I need other than lighting, water/food dish, place to hide? Any other advise/ things you wish you knew before jumping into a tortoise would be appreciated.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Spokane Valley WA
Read the care guides in the specific section for tortoises you're considering. They are pinned at the top. There are enclosure ideas in the enclosure section too. Welcome to the forum.

Evy

5 Year Member
San Diego, CA
Read the care guides in the specific section for tortoises you're considering. They are pinned at the top. There are enclosure ideas in the enclosure section too. Welcome to the forum.
Hi linco and welcome to the forum. You need to remember that tortoises are far long commitment. With that being said the tortoises that are you looking are not massive but they can get big. You will need to research in the correct breed what are the differences on habitats and diet for each one or them. If you go to the main page you will find info about them.

I hope you find what would suits you better

Heather H

N.E. ohio