Beak problems

liv&james

Hi everyone!

I am only new to tortoise forum and usually just read it as I have never had an problems with James. So I hope I have done this right!

I recently noticed a crack in my tortoises' beak. I took him to the owner of the pet shop that I bought him from and she said that as long as it isn't bleeding or causing him any pain then it will be okay. The crack has now gotten worse and turned into a small triangle shape in him beak and another one is starting on the other side. He doesn't seem to be in any pain and it isn't bleeding. He is eating but not eating all of his food, which isn't unnormal for him anyway. He has been sleeping a bit more than usual but I think that may be my fault. I started a new job so I changed the timer on his light to suit my working hours and he still hasn't adapted.

A little bit about my baby...

James is a 5 year old Hermann's tortoise, I have had him for two years and bought him from a local pet shop. He lives in a wooden tortoise table with Hemp bedding and a heat lamp (temp is correct). I try to give him a varied diet but I do find it hard. He has things such as, cabbage, kale, rocket, watercress, peppercress, pak choi, dandelion leaves and he some times has a little bit of cucumber as a treat, less than once a week.

He has nutrilbol and calci dust on his food on alternate dates. He has a cuttlefish bone in his house but he doesn't bother with it.

He has a Luke warm bath every two days and absolutely loves it. He also roams around my living room for an hour everyday and the garden in the summer.

I haven't had a tortoise before so I rely on pages such as this for advise, if I am doing anything wrong then please let me know. I want to be the best mum to James as possible!

There isn't a reptile vet local to me so I thought I would ask on here before driving for hours to find one haha!

Thank you in advance.

P.s photo shows triangle shaped cut at the front!

1426338190458.jpg