Beak Length on Russian Tortoise

bruneau98

Location (City and/or State)
Idaho
Hi! I recently got my russian tortoise, Bruneau, from a friend of a friend and I am having a hard time telling if his beak needs to be trimmed? I’ve looked through some threads on here with images of other tortoises and I still am not sure if his is healthy or not. He eats off of a rough tile but I haven’t noticed a change. I have a dremel that I grind my dogs nails with but I’m a bit terrified to try that on his beak so I won’t if I don’t have to! Thanks for any advice!

Attachments

• 6460E868-8309-4315-98A4-1BA1FD2975BD.jpeg
    6460E868-8309-4315-98A4-1BA1FD2975BD.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 33
  • 571FDDC0-46F8-4A0F-9E6D-4977B9E86A52.jpeg
    571FDDC0-46F8-4A0F-9E6D-4977B9E86A52.jpeg
    1,016.3 KB · Views: 33

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
I am no expert but my answer is yes, it needs to be trimmed. Wait for an expert to help @Yvonne G or @Tom

zovick

10 Year Member!
Hi! I recently got my russian tortoise, Bruneau, from a friend of a friend and I am having a hard time telling if his beak needs to be trimmed? I’ve looked through some threads on here with images of other tortoises and I still am not sure if his is healthy or not. He eats off of a rough tile but I haven’t noticed a change. I have a dremel that I grind my dogs nails with but I’m a bit terrified to try that on his beak so I won’t if I don’t have to! Thanks for any advice!
Yes, the beak is too long. It is certainly not as bad as many we have seen on this forum, but it could stand to be trimmed.

autumn_0201

Kuantan

I'm not an expert either but yes, it DOES look quite long to me. Definitely needs some trimming here. Here's a video from one of my favorite tortoise keepers, Kamp Kenan, on how to trim a tort's beak correctly. Hope this helps.

ArmadilloPup

NE Oklahoma