Baby sulcata shell indenting? Help!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

TankTheTortoise

5 Year Member
image-857510429.png

I came home today and noticed the left part of my 3month old tortoise's shell looked like it was indenting. I've been giving him daily soaks, cuttlebone sprinkled on his spring mix with a constant UV light, heat lamp during the day and I take him outside almost everyday. I was gone for two weeks and I don't think my dad ever soaked him, instead he just put water in a shallow dish in the enclosure. I live in Arizona and recently was informed that they should not be living on alfalfa pellets and do need a substrate that holds humidity (when I first got him I was misinformed). I'm new to owning any type of reptile so please help.
He is still very active and social, running around everywhere and trying to eat everything.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi TanktheTortoise:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

That looks like some type of injury...my best guess is a hot rock or a light that was too close. They sometimes don't realize that they are getting burned, and that's why hot rocks are not a good option for baby tortoises. Likewise the light. If the tank's too small a baby wouldn't know how to get away from the hot light.

You're lucky the injury doesn't seem to be causing him any stress. Having a good appetite is really the name of the game.

What would you like us to call you?

...and may we know appx. where in the world you are?

TankTheTortoise

5 Year Member
"what would you like us to call you"? Sorry I just joined about an hour ago so I'm not sure what you mean by that haha. I live in Phoenix, AZ in USA. If that's what you meant.