Baby Food

Status
Not open for further replies.

cknfrmr

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Kernersville, NC
I just bought a can of pumpkin for my Sulcata and its enough to last it for what i think the next year. My question is. I read a posting about soaking your your young tortoise in baby food for the xtra vitiamns they absorbe up. Can you feed your tortoise like for example the squash baby food so the vitiamns actually get in there body through the digestive system. I am very new to this and my mind wonders. Thanks for your time.

PeanutbuttER

5 Year Member
Utah
I think this is a very good question. I hope someone chimes in with an answer. My guess is that somebody on here has fed it before.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
When my baby Yellowfoot tortoise were first out of the egg, I had a hard time getting them to start eating. What finally turned them around was putting Gerber baby food over their greens. I used the different fruit flavors. They just gobbled it up.

If your baby is eating his greens and you'd like to get some baby food into him, there's nothing wrong with putting a little pumpkin or baby food over the food. Just don't use fruit for a desert-type tortoise.

goReptiles

10 Year Member!
I didn't think that tortoises absorbed nutrients through their skin

webskipper

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
AZ
Maybe someone was thinking of Repta-Aid to spoon feed the malnourished Torts with a pipette?

Very stressful to force feed any animal.

tortoisenerd

5 Year Member
Washington
I wouldn't use baby food or pumpkin or such in a soak unless the young tort was ill (same with bird vitamins, another common treatment). If the tort is healthy, just feed a healthy varied diet and use a pure calcium supplement daily (no vitamins or D3 if you have a UVB bulb or the tort gets sun).