Am I in a good position to get a tortoise?

microbiolife

I think I can probably guess what the answer is, but I'd like to get a clearer idea of everything that this decision entails before I decide one way or another. I have been presented with an opportunity to acquire a beautiful, healthy baby Hermann's for a great price, and having been fascinated by tortoises all my life I am quite tempted. I know that I will have a pet tortoise at some point in my life, so saving money now would be great, but I'm not sure if I'm at the right point in my life to do so. So let me explain my situation, and please don't freak out after reading the first sentence.

I'm a student, currently in my third year of microbiology. I have a lot of connections within my field of study, and they have given me confidence that I will be employed soon after graduating. I am paying school-related expenses with loans and scholarships, but all my other living expenses are paid for with my summer job earnings(it's a high-paying oil field job, so I make plenty in the 4 months of summer to cover living expenses as well as to add to savings). I also receive $500 per month from my parents, which I divide between savings and hobbies. My parents are aware of how I spend my allowance. Pets are included with my hobbies, and their costs are prioritized over my other hobbies. Currently I have a 15-year-old cat, several tarantulas, and a 3-year-old kingsnake. The Ts and the snake are both long-term commitments, with life expectancy ranging from 10 to 30 years depending on species, though not nearly as long-term as a tortoise. I have a savings pool specifically for vet costs which I maintain at a minimum of $6000. My vet does treat exotics and offers payment plans for extremely expensive procedures. I live in an apartment with a very tolerant roommate and my landlord is aware of my pets. I also know of several other affordable apartments in my area that would allow my animals, should I have to move in the near