Age of Russian

Status
Not open for further replies.

ForPhilbert

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Naples, FL
Hello! I am new to owning tortoises. Just got a male Russian tortoise from Petco and they were unable to tell me his age. I was wondering if anyone would be able to do so from a couple pictures! His name is Philbert and he is a very curious little bugger. Phil.jpgphil2.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Kristina

10 Year Member!
Cadillac, Michigan
The reason that they could not tell you his age is that the tortoises that Petco sells are wild caught. (Not telling you an age is actually a step up for them, I have read numerous times where they have told a new owner that their tortoise is 3 months old, when it is obviously several years old.)

It is hard to tell for sure, but based on his size and condition I would hazard a guess of around 5 years old.

-JM

5 Year Member
He's a handsome fellow! I love the name! :) Congrats on being a new mommy!

ForPhilbert

5 Year Member
Naples, FL
kyryah said:
The reason that they could not tell you his age is that the tortoises that Petco sells are wild caught. (Not telling you an age is actually a step up for them, I have read numerous times where they have told a new owner that their tortoise is 3 months old, when it is obviously several years old.)

It is hard to tell for sure, but based on his size and condition I would hazard a guess of around 5 years old.