Yellowfoot xray

Meganolvt

Location (City and/or State)
Michigan
I took Roland to work today to use him for xrays. We are tweaking our technique charts and I needed an exotic animal to work on. Check out his xray. I had no reason to xray him other than for practice. It has to be a pile of rocks I think? He has had no access to pebbles since i've had him (4 months). Could they have been ingested before and are just sitting there? My other thought was kidney stones maybe? Despite being a vet tech, I know very little about tortoise anatomy or gastrointestinal normalities. Can they hold on to things like females do eggs? In a dog or a cat, these would be pebbles in the intestines. In a tortoise, I don't know. He's eating, active, etc. Any thoughts? My vet wasn't in today, we'll see what she thinks tomorrow.Small Animal _ Reptile-Thorax DV-12_9_2015-11_48_34   AM-524.JPEG

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Yellowfooted tortoises' diet should include food containing seeds. They are used to eating seeds and will eat rocks if they aren't fed seeds.

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Toronto, Canada
Whoa, fascinating. My tortoise anatomy is quite weak. What structure are they bound into? I've seen images of material that's made it into the intestines and it's all spread out and doesn't look anything like that.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Many tortoises will eat pebbles like that. Its usually associated with a low fiber diet of grocery store greens and lack of mineral content, but not always.

That X-ray almost doesn't look real. The detail and color of the pebbles almost looks like a picture superimposed on your X-ray photo. Also the way they are grouped there seems pretty unusual.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
@Yvonne G you mean like fruit with seeds?